Book Review – HDR Photography – From Snapshots to Great Shots

As some of you know I love HDR photography and use it during landscapes and interiors.  I was recently lucky enough to be approached by Peachpit Publishing to review a new book.

HDR Photography From Snapshots to Great Shots by Tim Cooper

HDR_Photography__From_Snapshots_to_Great_Shots__Amazon_co_uk__Tim_Cooper__9780134180281__Books 2

I took this book away with me on vacation and thought it might be a great book to pass the time with on my sun lounger but probably wouldn’t teach me much…..How wrong was I!

This book really made me question my HDR workflow and taught me some new techniques, some of which I have used on a recent commercial shoot for clients.  It also refreshed and updated some forgotten basic photography knowledge.

If you think you can’t learn any more or know everything about a particular photography genre, I recommend you take the time to dabble in a some learning.  If you like HDR, why not start with Tim’s book.  A link of where to find it on Amazon.co.uk is here

HDR_Photography__From_Snapshots_to_Great_Shots__Amazon_co_uk__Tim_Cooper__9780134180281__BooksMy review is below…..

I am an amateur photographer who spends a lot of time shooting landscapes in HDR.  I love the fact you can capture the complete dynamic range of a scene.  For a while now I have tried to find a good book that allows me to learn and, most importantly, understand more about HDR and photography in general.  Tim has created a book here which both the new shooter and seasoned amateur will find useful to confirm learning and understanding.  I felt I knew a lot about HDR but this book has made me question the way I work and also the software/workflow process that I use.  Totally up to date this book works best of you use Lightroom 6 / CC and Photomatix Pro but I am sure the principles can be applied to most packages.  It gives you enough detail, without confusing the reader, to ensure confidence with the different panels in each package.
Some of my favourite parts of the book were the sections on technical elements – such as reading a histogram correctly and the great comparison of a camera and the exposure triangle to a set of human eyes.  After each chapter there are ‘assignments’ to confirm learning and the sharing of your images on Flickr allows you to engage with other users.  
As someone with a passion for landscapes chapter 6 really appealed to me and Tim gave me a nice refresher on light at different times of the day – such as sunrise and sunset.  
The only element of this book that let me down slightly was the abrupt ending – I wanted more and would have liked to have seen a summary section at the end pulling all the elements together.  That aside I recommend you buy this book let your creative juices flow.  Enjoy!  


 Have a great day and never stop learning!

Leave a Reply

