Coastal Dreams

DKB_0001-6

What is it about the coast?  That magical area where the land meets the sea.

I am lucky enough to live on an Island and I am surrounded by coastal zones of all types.  If I think back over the last few months, I can usually guarantee that on my day off my camera and I (and a very patient partner) can be found on a beach somewhere watching the world go by.  Tripod setup and eyes fixed on the view.

Take the shot above as an example.  Taken today on a piece of beach near Binstead on the Isle of Wight.  What do you see?  Is it the ripples of the sand, a textured pattern built up by the turning of the tide?  Is it the log – a victim from the slowly eroding coastline?  The container ship en route to sell our goods?  The Spinnaker Tower which stands out on the horizon or is it the slowly disappearing rainbow caused by the mix of Winter weather?

What do I see?  I see paradise!  Wherever I am in the world I am somehow drawn to the coast and when I get there I sit and watch for hours.

Why? – I love the peacefulness it brings me.

Leave a Reply

